The wrong man in the wrong place. On visiting ‘Lineart’ (Ghent)

Just back from Lineart. With a headache. I had skipped the art fair in Ghent (Flanders Expo, through December 6) the last couple of years and I must say I was taken aback by the level of a lot of the galleries and the art they present. I hadn’t expected it to be Art Brussels, but I hadn’t thought it would remind me more of the Affordable Art Fair either. Sure, they do invite a couple of contemporary galleries (The border), but the way those have been given a spot in a dark alley on the fringe of that exhibition space? I was almost happy to stumble upon a couple of old black-and-white photographs by Belgian photographer Germaine Van Parys (1893-1983) and I was glad to hear that an exhibition on her work is planned in Brussels, in 2013. My advice? Skip Lineart. There’s just too many good exhibitions and gallery shows going on, right now.

Leave a Reply

