And I still haven’t found what I ‘m looking for (the perfect art magazine)

At the end of this year I still bemoan the closing of Art World magazine. I have been looking for the perfect art magazine ever since. So I was really eager to get my hands on a copy of the brand new British magazine Elephant: an art & visual culture magazine, created by Marc Valli, owner of Magma Books in the UK. It’s backed by the people of Frame magazine. But I was rather disappointed. Sure, it looks nice. But being a journalist myself, I was really let down by the quality of the interviews and some of the other articles. A lot more could have been done with really interesting people such as Fernando Gutiérrez, Peter Saville or Matt Pyke. ‘Could you tell us a little bit about your background’ or ‘Where did you grow up?’ aren’t exactly fascinating ways to start an interview with. And articles about bike polo and Scandinavian fashion in an art magazine? Elephant costs 15 euro. I think I then prefer my free copy of Kaleidoscope. For those of you who haven’t seen that Italian magazine (in English), you can download all previous issues here.

One Response to “And I still haven’t found what I ‘m looking for (the perfect art magazine)”

  1. […] for the perfect art magazine is one that does keep me awake a night sometimes (see previous post here). Well… I must say the new issue of Foam comes pretty close. Foam is a Dutch photography […]

Leave a Reply

