Adieu Pina Bausch (1940-2009)

Pina is gone. What can I say? Except for the fact that I’ll be forever grateful to that good friend of mine who took me to see Café Müller in Leuven, years ago. I’ll always remember being blown away by that performance. I’ll also always remember seeing Kontakthof in Antwerp, with all those elderly people on stage. And I’ll always remember listening to her after a performance in De Munt (Brussels), and having to smile when I noticed the hip, black Adidas-sneakers she was wearing, with bright orange stripes. And I’ll remember seeing her dance once again, in Café Müller, in Brussels in 2006, and being blown away for the second time. Listening to Purcell’s When I am laid in earth will never be the same again. Pina Bausch, having a party up there with Michael Jackson; it’s a strange thought.

Leave a Reply

